News 2020

31/01/2020 – Who’s signing the Early Day Motion?

By January 5, 2021No Comments

21/01/20 – Holly Lynch, the MP for Halifax and a tremendous supporter of the Child Mental Health Charter Campaign tabled new Early Day Motion 73:  Children and Mental Health Legislation in the House of Commons. The link to the EDM on the Parliament site is here and the text is:

That this House welcomes the announcement in the Queen’s Speech that the Mental Health Act will be reformed; agrees that current legislation is out of step with a modern mental healthcare system and that people must have a service that affords them the dignity and respect that they deserve; further notes that the announcement made no mention of the urgent needs of children; contends that unless their needs are embedded into a new Mental Health Act as a central priority such legislation will be fundamentally flawed; calls on the Government to guarantee that new mental health legislation will focus on children’s needs and protect them, ensure that services are provided by a properly qualified workforce and reflect policies that are informed by the best available evidence; and further calls on the Government to focus on the needs of parents and carers and guarantee to bring forward such legislative proposals at the earliest possible opportunity.

EDM 73

Sponsors and Signatories are as follows:

Name Constituency Party
Holly Lynch Halifax Labour
Allan Dorans Ayr, Carrick and Cumnock SNP
Jim Shannon Strangford DUP
Chris Stephens Glasgow South West SNP
Christine Jardine Edinburgh West LD
Kate Hollern Blackburn Labour
Barry Sheerman Huddersfield Labour
Caroline Lucas Brighton Pavilion Green
Conor McGinn St Helens North Labour
Sir David Amess Southend West Conservative
David Linden Glasgow East SNP
Sir Jeffrey Donaldson Lagan Valley DUP
Layla Moran Oxford West and Abingdon LibDem
Liz Saville Roberts Dwyfor Meirionnydd Plaid Cymru
Mike Hill Hartlepool Labour
Alistair Carmichael Orkney and Shetland LibDem
Mohammed Yasim Bedford Labour
Sir Mark Hendrick Preston Labour
Wera Hobhouse Bath LibDem
Debbie Abrahams Oldham East and Saddleworth Labour
Grahame Morris Easington Labour
Rosie Cooper West Lancashire Labour
Paul Girvan South Antrim DUP
Taiwo Owatemi Coventry North West Labour
Sammy Wilson East Antrim DUP
Amy Callaghan East Dunbartonshire SNP